Valentines Day ❤

There’s this thing about the 14th February every year. Flowers, chocolates, teddy bears and dinner dates are just some of the ways people celebrate.

I’ve never been one for celebrating Valentine’s Day. Probably because in year 6, I gave a teddy bear to a boy I liked and he gave it to another girl! I was totally scared for life!

I watched girls in high school get flowers delivered, giant teddy bears given to them, that lets be honest wouldn’t fit in their car and love letters from 3 different guys. My dad cooked me dinner one year…that’s about all I ever got, and it was probably just coincidence!
The first time I really celebrated Valentine’s Day was when I got engaged! But by then, I realised that every day can be Valentine’s Day! My fiancé would send flowers on random occasions, take me to dinner or on a day trip to the beach. It was awesome! It made me feel like I wasn’t missing out on much!

As life can become super busy, with work or kids, it’s so easy to forget to sew into your partners love language. Mine is ‘quality time’ and with a new baby around these days, it’s so hard to find 5 spare minutes to have a conversation let alone a couple of hours to chill out and watch a movie on the couch! My husbands is ‘acts of service’ and ‘words of affirmation’. When you’ve got a new baby, even saying something encouraging is sometimes a challenge when you can’t think straight from lack of sleep! 

‘Love is something you do for someone else, not something you do for yourself’. 

– Gary Chapman 

Put your partners needs before yours and if he’s got half a brain he’ll do the same for you! (Sometimes it takes men a little while longer to get it. But hey! Most women need to learn the art of patience anyway! – I do! 😉 

Let’s not get lost in ‘the way of the world’ and celebrate your loved ones everyday! Learn what your partners love language is and do a small act each day that represents it! I’m no marriage expert but this really works for us!

Happy Valentine’s Day! 🌻

2 thoughts on “Valentines Day ❤

  1. This is great, I’ve been trying to show my partner what it is I need from him, our love language changes all the time just like we do. We now have a baby 👶🏻 and that’s changed everything. I’ve been trying to communicate my unhappiness because I’m not getting something I need from him, you’ve reminded me to test my love language and work out what it is I want from him, thankyou ✔️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

